I Once Believed

I once believed that if I loved the man I was with unconditionally, that he would return the love unconditionally. Not only would he love me, he would always have my best interest at heart.

I once believed that if I opened up and just be myself that he would learn to appreciate me for who I am and not for what he could get out of me. I thought communicating my innermost thoughts and feelings would bring us closer and that maybe my opinions actually did matter.

Reality stung when I realized that I was the only person in love, not him. Feeling as if I spent wasted hours and wasted years on something that was not to be; wondering sometimes hopelessly if I’ll ever find true love or continue this life’s journey by myself.

13 comments on “I Once Believed

  1. I’m with Janice – I’m a believer! A “SEASONED” believer. LOL

    Awwww…Don, I don’t think LOVE sucks…I think “WE” suck at love. The good news is we can do better.

  2. Janice/MsJayy – I still believe in love…but love with the right person…and as I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned to figure out the difference between love and lust.

    Don – Sometimes we have to let it go.

    Opinionated Diva – It hasn’t changed me; just stronger 🙂

  3. Men are quite complicated, and don’t think like women. You have to learn the way your partner loves, his love language. I use to think that until I learned the different ways people love. I am an encourager my words mean a lot, I like to talk and lift people up. Since that’s the way I love, I expected it of others. My husband is a servicer. He shows his loves by washing the car, bringing in the groceries, and getting me a glass of water if I’m thirsty.

    Sometimes we have love right before our eyes, and we looking for a spitting image of how we love. Take the time to learn the next man you’re with, and see the type of things he does when he says I love you. Does he say I love you and give you a kiss (affection love language), does he say I love you and asks how was your day (encourager love language), does he say I love you and runs your bath water (servicer love language). All these are different ways men may love so don’t give up on love, just discover the right love language for you.

  4. Whoa… deep.. I think we’ve all believed this… until that first time we get our heart broken… amazing how quickly our outlook on love can change

  5. sometimes you gotta kiss a lot of frogs — to find that prince. Keep hope alive! Don’t give one person (an unworthy one at that!) the power to keep you from loving again.

  6. When I was looking through my journal, this stood out. I wrote it originally a few years ago. I’m glad the feelings or emotions from that time period seems to pour through. I’m currently a single happy go lucky woman who still believes her prince is out there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

