The Truth and Contest Winners

Here are the answers to last week’s Fact or Fiction. I enjoyed reading your responses.

Here are ten statements allegedly about me. Which are true and which are false?

  1.  I’m from Louisiana and I grew up on a farm. We had to get up at 5 am every morning to do chores before walking a mile to the bus stop to get to school. False. I grew up in the 2nd largest city in the state of Louisiana. I’ve always been a city girl; although I visited my grandparents in the country every Sunday after church while growing up and spent some summers in the country.
  2. I met Maya Angelou in the 9th grade at a freshman lock-in. I didn’t realize then, how important that encounter would impact me later.  True. Up until that point I had never met an AA writer. After meeting Maya Angelou and seeing first hand the passion that words could evoke, I knew then that writing was something I wanted to do.
  3. One of my brothers taped my phone conversation with my boyfriend (is that legal???) when I was a teenager and later tried to bribe me not to tell our parents. True. I laugh now thinking about it.
  4. I married my college sweetheart, but later divorced him after I found out he was on the DL (a dirty leech). False. I have never been married. I was engaged to my college sweetheart and didn’t marry him because he was on the DL (a dirty leech) among other reasons.
  5. My best friend and I got into a big argument about nothing and didn’t talk for two years. False. We did get into a big disagreement about nothing but it was only a few weeks before someone contacted the other. I can’t recall who.
  6. Besides writing, drawing is another one of my favorite things to do. False. I couldn’t draw a straight line with a ruler. My brothers were blessed with that talent. I was blessed with the writing gene.
  7. I performed as one part of this singing duo on The Main Circuit, a local version of Soul Train. True. If I ever get my hand on the video; I might just post it here. Not.  🙂 Me and Cassandra used to rehearse after school…back then I could out dance Janet…and yes, I mean Ms. Jackson.
  8. I’ve gone to Paris several times. True. Paris, Texas that is. Michelle, I loved your answer. I do plan on going to Paris, France one day though.
  9. I’ve been engaged twice. True. Fortunately for me I didn’t marry either one…the college sweetheart nor my second ex-fiance; because I would be twice divorce by  now since I’m not with either one.
  10. I am Anna Nicole Smith’s cousin. The verdict is still out on this one. Her real last name is the same as my family. I sometimes kid that she’s our white cousin from Texas. I guess we’ll never know.

The winners from the contest last week either posted a comment on the blog and/or a member of my yahoogroup mailing list: Kim and Michelle please look for an email offloop. Congrats on winning the giftcards. Thanks again to  PrincessDominiqueMultimedia.com for sponsoring the contest.

http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZUxdm080YYUS   “Paige’s Web by Shelia M. Goss is so good. I can’t stop turning the pages!”
6 comments on “The Truth and Contest Winners

  1. That must ahve been cool meeting Maya. I once met Michael Jackson and Emmanuel Lewis at Disneyland in ’87. Jackson was holding Lewis in his hands like a child. It always dawned on me how frightened Michael Jackson appeared to be of people.

    Your brother is wrong for that. LOL. But he definitely had a business mind.

    I used to dance on a local TV show in the mid 80s called Black Gold which was basically Soul Train. Me and 3 male classmates were The Coasters. We pop locked to Cameo’s song Just Be Yourself. In my eyes, we were the bomb. Me, Daryl, Carlos and Timothy. Tim’s mom made the outfits. I wish I had the video.

    lol @ Paris, Texas

  2. MJ & Emmanuel…now that would have been a sight to see. Yes, my brother was wrong for that. I remember doing a routine off of one of Cameo’s songs for dance class. I wonder what happened to Cameo.

  3. Pingback: work place clip art

Leave a Reply

