Hate on Me

The song for the week is “Hate on Me.” Jill Scott is back and I can’t wait to get the whole CD. Check out the video:  

Add Video to QuickList

Jill ScottHate On Me

By Shelia Posted in Music

7 comments on “Hate on Me

  1. I like this song. Oddly enough it took Jill Scott a minute to grow on me. After her first album, I was probably the only person in the world who thought she might be just a tad bit over-rated. And I know people are probably gasping and clutching their pearls at that statement… But I guess I was the only person in the world who didn’t care for her songs much. (Guess I was a hater… LOL.)

    I wanted to like her. In theory, I loved the idea of Jill Scott. (I mean a thick sista with natural hair and a beautiful voice, what’s not to love?) But I wasn’t digging her songs. With her second CD, I started to feel her a little. I liked the songs I heard and one of my friends purchased the CD for me. It’s not on heavy rotation or anything… But I don’t roll my eyes when I hear songs from the second CD. This third release might be the charm. I might just become a Jill Scott fan… We’ll see…

    Gwyneth

  2. I’m with you Gwyneth. She hasn’t grown on me. But I’m a stubborn person. So when people tell me that I have to see a movie, or I have to read a book, or I have to listen to Jill Scott – the LEO rebel in me says, no I don’t have to.

    Yes, I miss a lot of stuff this way, but it’s my make-up. The first step to rehabilitation is knowing your limitations.

    So maybe, just maybe…I’ll stop hatin’

    Michelle

  3. But I’m a stubborn person. So when people tell me that I have to see a movie, or I have to read a book, or I have to listen to Jill Scott – the LEO rebel in me says, no I don’t have to.

    Michelle… girl… I thought I was the only one. LOL. And with Jill Scott it seemed like the more people said I should like her the more I was determined not too. I’m a LEO too so maybe that can be my excuse…

    Gwyneth

  4. PrincessDominique – I’ve been listening to the song for about a month or so now and saw the video was out last night. It’s definately one of my favs.

    Gwyneth & Michelle – I can understand because there are few artists that I’m still not feeling. To me, Jill Scott’s first CD was her best CD up until this point. I have a feeling this one however will be the one. The verdict is still out. I’m waiting on my copy.

  5. this is a fierce song ~ i’m totally feeling it. i’ve always been a fan of jill’s – her last album didn’t woo me like the first, but if her new album kicks like this song, i’m there, 🙂

Leave a Reply

