13 Favorite Slow Jams

Today’s the 13th of August, so I thought I would do something different and have a little fun. Here are 13 of my favorite slow jams.  See how many you remember.

Shelia’s 13 Favorite Slow Jams Prince - The Very Best of Prince

  1. Adore by Prince
  2. Slow Jam by Midnight Star
  3. Girl by The Time
  4. Fire and Desire by Rick James and Teena Marie
  5. Silly by Deniece Williams
  6. Let’s Get It On by Marvin Gaye
  7. Here and Now by Luther Vandross
  8. You and I by Stevie Wonder (or O’Bryan)
  9. Love on a Two Way Street by Stacey Lattishaw
  10. Love TKO by Teddy Pendergrass
  11. Love & Happiness by Al Green
  12. Just to Be Close to You by Commodores/Hello by Lionel Richie (tie)
  13. If Only You Knew by Patti Labelle

What are some of your 13 favorites?

4 comments on “13 Favorite Slow Jams

  1. I have way too many but I’ll try and narrow it down to the top favs…

    ~ Tonight is the Night, Betty Wright
    ~ Always, Pebbles
    ~ Tender Kisses, Tracie Spencer
    ~ The Making of You, Curtis Mayfield
    ~ Ex-Factor, Lauryn Hill
    ~ Silly, Denise Williams
    ~ Free, Denise Williams (Heck anything by Denise Williams)
    ~ If Only You Knew, Patti LaBelle
    ~ Your Smile, Rene and Angela
    ~ You Don’t Have to Cry, Rene and Angela (Heck, anything by Rene and Angela…)
    ~ I might as well just say any of the duets by Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrill, heck I’m a sucker for duets so add Peaches and Herb, Luther and Cheryl Lynn…
    ~ Get it Together, 702
    ~ Kissing You, Total
    ~ Time (Clock of the Heart), Culture Club
    ~ Two Ocassions, The Deal
    ~ Never Keeping Secrets, Babyface
    ~ Let Me Be Your Angel, Stacy Lattisaw
    ~ Don’t Throw it All Away, Stacy Lattisaw (Heck, anything by Stacy Lattisaw…)

    I could go on and on… I’m a slow jam junkie…

    Gwyneth

  2. Gwyneth those are some good ones. I don’t know how I forgot about Rene & Angela. Whatever happened to Total?
    I thought I was the only one who liked The Deal…I have the tape somewhere in a bag…I just don’t have anything to play it on. I remember the video they used to play on BET all of the time. Got me going back down memory lane (no pun intended…another Minnie Ripleton favorite 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

