The Last 60 Seconds

The Last 60 Seconds

Copyright 2007 by Shelia M. Goss. All Rights Reserved.

 

Our relationship spanned over 365 days,

But can be summed up in 60 SECONDS.

 

In the 1st second

You managed to say the words

“I missed you.”

 

If you missed me that much,

Then why did it take days for you

To return my call?

 

In the 15th second,

You managed to say the words

“I need you.”

 

Of course you do,

Who else would have put up

With your bull for this long?

 

In the 30th second

You managed to say the words

“I want you.”

 

Yeah right, after midnight it’s a booty call,

And I made the mistake

Of answering my phone.

 

In the 45th second

You managed to say the words

“I love  you.”

 

I look you straight in the eyes and

Ask you one simple question

Why do you love me?

 

In the 60th second

You were silent

Scanning your mind for the next lie.

 

As you open your mouth to speak,

I must interrupt,

Sorry, but your minute is up.

2 comments on “The Last 60 Seconds

Leave a Reply

