A Few of My Favorite Authors

To celebrate my new blog, anyone can suggest a topic until the end of the month and we’ll talk about it here.  D.S. White gave the first topic. Name a few of your favorite authors. Why?

It’s a challenge because I have so many favorite authors. This list will not contain all of my favorite authors, but a few:

Maya Angelou, Peggy Eldridge Love  and Marc Lacy and so many other poets. Poets have a way of making words on the page sing.

Waking with EnemiesEric Jerome Dickey – his latest 2 books are why he’s my favorite. 

Everybody Say AmenReShonda Tate Billingsley –   whether she’s writing mainstream fiction, Christian fiction or Young Adult books, her writing style puts her on my favorite’s list. 

I can’t mention Christian fiction without adding Victoria Christopher Murray to my list. I just got this one in the mail and can’t wait to read it. A Novel About Four Women and Faith

Life without romance is BORING…some of my favorite romance authors are Francis Ray, Donna Hill, Gwynne Forster, Monica Jackson, and so many others. I’m hooked on Brenda Jackson’s books. In Bed With Her Boss (Kimani Romance)

  • Mystery & Suspense/Thriller
    •  Walter Mosley, Vincent Alexandria, John A. Wooden, Keith Lee Johnson, Tananarive Due, Brandon Massey, Tess Gerristen, etc….
  • Inspirational/Self-Help
    • T.D. Jakes, Michelle McKinney Hammond, Joyce Meyer, Carla J. Curtis etc….

Other writers who I like and have read every single one of their books include:  Kimberla Lawson Roby, Linda Dominique Grosvenor, Michelle McGriff, JD Robb (aka Nora Roberts), Jackie Collins, Cherlyn Michaels, E Lynn Harris, Michael Baisden,  etc.

I’m tired of typing, so this post has come to an end. This is only a snippet of who I enjoy reading. Stop back by from time to time and I’ll be posting other books by some of my favorite authors.

Who are some of your favorite authors and why?

4 comments on “A Few of My Favorite Authors

  1. Shelia

    I haven’t read many of the authors you’ve mentioned and I know that they are at the top of their game. I must make a concerted effort to do so.

    But, on the other hand, I have sooo many favorite authors and new ones that I have added to my must read.

    Just a few….

    Donna Hill
    Francis Ray
    Jacquelin Thomas
    Nora Roberts (haven’t read her J.D. Robb books, but I have several)
    James Patterson (can devour his books in a matter of hours)
    Dean Koontz (I’d probably be a blithering idiot if I got to meet him)
    Stephen King (his sense of humor is right up my alley)
    Patricia Gaffney (romance author who now writes more mainstream, women’s fiction – absolutely love her dry sense of humor; very cynical)

    There are more, but I’ll leave it at that.

    Michelle

  2. Michelle, we have a few “faves” in common. Your name should be added to my faves list too because I’ve read and enjoyed all of your books. I knew I was going to forget one, that’s why I said etc…smile

  3. I see lots of my favs on your list too. I’d add Pearl Cleage, Bernice McFadden, JD Mason, Jenonyne Adams. Oh and this writer by the name of…um…I think it’s Shelia Goss. :O)

Leave a Reply

