What’s Your Theme Song?

What’s Your Life Theme Song???

Thanks Tony Hanes for the idea for this post. Tony’s theme’s song is Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On?

Check out his blog to find out why: http://blog.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=59255914&blogID=291468508&indicate=1

My theme song varies. Right now it’s Golden by Jill Scott (lyric excerpt below):

I’m living my life like it’s golden
living my life like it’s golden
living my life like it’s golden

I’m taking my own freedom
puttin’ it in my song
singing loud and strong
proving all day long
I’m takin’ my freedom
puttin’ it in my stroll
I’ll be hop-steppin’ y’all
lettin’ the joy unfold

What’s Your Life Theme Song???

2 comments on “What’s Your Theme Song?

  1. Here’s mine. It’s Jill Scott too–Hate on Me!

    If I could give you the world
    On a silver platter
    Would it even matter?
    You’d still be mad at me

    If I could find in all this
    A dozen roses
    Which I would give to you
    You’d still be miserable

    In reality, I’m gon’ be who I be
    And I don’t feel no faults
    For all the lies that you bought
    You can try as you may
    Break me down but I say
    That it ain’t up to you
    Gone and do what you do

    (Chorus)
    Hate on me, hater
    Now or later
    ‘Cuz I’m gonna do me
    You’ll be mad, baby
    (Go ‘head and hate)
    Go ‘head and hate on me, hate on
    ‘Cuz I’m not afraid of it
    What I got I paid for
    You can hate on me

    Ooh, if I gave you peaches
    Out of my own garden
    And I made you a peach pie
    Would you slap me high

    What if I gave you diamonds
    Out of my own womb
    Would you feel the love in that,
    Or ask “why not the moon”?

    If I gave you sanity
    For the whole of humanity,
    Had all the solutions
    For the pain and pollution

    No matter where I live,
    Despite the things I give,
    You’ll always be this way
    So go ‘head and….

    (Chorus)

    You cannot hate on me
    ‘Cuz my mind is free
    Feel my destiny
    So shall it be

Leave a Reply

